The Art of Discouragement

An inspirational quote of my own design

An inspirational quote of my own design

Sometimes we are our own worst enemy. As writers…artists even, we are sensitive, volatile creatures waiting for the next criticism to break our spirit. Yet we’re called to a passion that is purely subjective. Where one bad review or criticism can leave us falling into the abyss of self-doubt, a hungry, relentless beast that swallows you whole. Especially after you’ve opened your veins and poured your blood and soul across the canvas, the stage, or pages of your work – in this day and age….your laptop.

For me, each day is different, each critique has its own way of working itself into me.  When I’m working on a skill that’s new I’m more open to advice, knowing this piece will “suck” and help is much needed. I am eager to learn. But when excitement flows through my work and I’m so sure that the outcome will be well received and it’s not. That’s when the dark shadow of discouragement darkens my ambition and often I step away, unmotivated and look for solace in a new piece. I’m surrounded by a sea of unfinished work. Projects I thought were great pushed to the side because someone’s critique, suggestions, or subjective view made me change my mind.

I know I should take everyone’s opinion with a grain of salt…it is only an opinion, after all. I am not the type of person to lash back and honestly, I don’t think it’s helpful when you’re trying to learn and grow. Needless to say, there are people that are not careful or helpful with their critiques or in fact, have no idea what they are talking about. But that little monster of self-doubt lives off meals of discouragement and it’s easy for him to grow without you noticing.

So am I the only one that feels this way? And if you do find yourself at the mercy of discouragement how do you overcome it?

This is in response to OM’s challenge to wordpress. If you’re ready to break your genre, post here.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Just Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Art of Discouragement

  1. It is true, and I thank you for sharing this! Keep that pencil tip sharp, because you are fabulous! I cannot wait to see both our names on several best sellers lists! I love your blog, your words, and you have helped and encouraged me just by sharing. Smile on partner! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pattyalcala says:

    I love your quote. I know that everyone gets discouraged and I know it is normal. But if you look for it, will find signs and words of encouragement. I wish you peace!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. afairymind says:

    This post is so true. I love the quote. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    Thanks for taking part in the “Break the Genre” challenge! I appreciate you linking back and I hope you had fun! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please visit their blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lewin Carr says:

    stand boldly and unafraid. exercise your faith if you can fly run , if you can run walk if you cant walk crawl whatever you do don’t stop press on

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved reading this post! I really understand what you feel through your words.
    “Today I tell you that whether you fear it or not, disappointment will come. The beauty is that through disappointment you can gain clarity, and with clarity comes conviction and true originality.”
    -Conan O’Brien

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Please — no obligation to respond but I thought the pertinent post might interest:

    http://holisticwayfarer.com/2014/02/03/get-over-your-bad-self-its-not-about-you/

    =) Or feel free to delete this comment. Don’t mean to PR myself.

    Diana

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Thanks for stopping by and reading. I appreciate the suggestion and I like what your post had to say about misreading people and how we live in a self-centered world. My feelings on discouragement are often regarding critiques I’ve asked for on my work, so I suppose I’ve put myself in this situation. It’s just goes with the territory of asking for feedback. Some will like it and some won’t, but I can’t help but hope everyone will love it 🙂 Were you trying to say I shouldn’t care about anyone’s words of discouragement because most often it comes from something going on in their own life that doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with me?

      Like

  8. litadoolan says:

    I love the image. I would only take on board what is useful to you and your process. For what it’s worth!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

