#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 7: IN LOVE OR LAUGHTER

Prompt photo for flash fiction. source: pixabay

Prompt photo for flash fiction. source: pixabay

It’s week seven of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in or read other’s posts and be inspired. Don’t you love this week’s horrifyingly and disturbingly funny prompt featured above?

Read mine below and feel free to leave a comment. Enjoy!

IN LOVE OR LAUGHTER (150 words)

I rub the makeup off Jonathon’s face with my thumb. White smudges into blue. Red streaks. Then I brush my lips against his. Jonathon grabs my wrist.

“Don’t Dawn, you’ll get makeup on your face,” he says.

I don’t care. I know working as a children’s entertainer barely pays the bills, but watching him perform, he comes alive. And the kids…they love him. That passion makes my heart fall a little harder. I love his job and truthfully, if he’d had any other profession at my cousin’s party I never would’ve noticed him among all the ties and power suits.

I reach for him again and feel thick paint against my skin. He breathes me in then pulls away.

“Look at you.” A small smile, darkness in his eyes.

“I wouldn’t have it any other way.”

Jonathon swallows hard. Defeat in his eyes. “I can’t anymore. I’m quitting my job.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 7: IN LOVE OR LAUGHTER

  1. Wow! I loved the emotion in this piece. Especially the ending. Excellent Vanessa. Hopefully, someday I will be able to write half that good.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Creatopath says:

    Romantic and sad. Really enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. c0ral33 says:

    Lovely. I was inspired by your post to try it out. Thanks for the inspiration! Check it out if you like
    https://musefullymendaciloquent.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/carnival/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. afairymind says:

    Beautiful and sad. I hope he doesn’t give up doing what he loves. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sonya says:

    Love this – you get her attraction to him across superbly well. And such a sad ending. Excellent story.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. milliethom says:

    A lovely story which combines romance and sadness so well. I wonder whether Jonathon”s about to pack the job in because of the low pay, or something else … Well done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. AnElephant enjoys this, and reads that Jonathon is leaving his job because it is not right for him, no matter what it means to her.
    Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. litadoolan says:

    I love the contrasting emotion in this line ‘A small smile, darkness in his eyes.’ Brings out the world of performance beautifully. Agree with the other comments too on the great ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. If she loves him she loves him.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site
    with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving
    the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Outstanding blog and outstanding design.

    Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

