What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 7)

Pixabay public domain

Pixabay public domain

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. Boy, I’m late today, usually schedule this post for an early morning. I’m still making way on my new project. I love when I’m excited about writing. The excerpt I’ve chosen for this week is from a YA fantasy novel with strong romantic elements about dragons. Because dragons are just cool.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and your 3rd paragraph on page 18. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

“Are you okay?” Jamari whispers when the captain turns and references the screen.

I am in control at all times—right now, I’m not. Everything about Ryu shouts restlessness, chaos and defiance. The worst part is when I’m near him those qualities bleed into me. And I’m afraid I like it. My eyes drift to him. He still doesn’t seem to be paying attention to the lecture.

“Fine,” I whisper back. Skinny Boy shifts around in his seat, I’m not sure if he’s annoyed or afraid of getting caught. Why not make the whole Dragonology class do push-ups—I’m on a roll today.

Have a great Sunday! And Write on!

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 7)

  1. Ooh, the dragon novel. I like the sound of Dragonology!

    This is the one I always do, Dark City, literary/commercial fiction.

    For all my bravado, I’ve only spent a few days in the Warrens. Sweltering afternoons begging on street corners, cold summer nights in a cardboard box large as a coffin settled on the sidewalk.

    But I do remember the unpredictable curves of the streets as they swell or narrow to dead ends at random. Buildings and roads the same pale stone, as though the structures have risen organically from the ground, spines and scales on a living organism. They seem to curl in above us, in an alley barely wide enough to walk side by side.

    Jude takes my hand. Without a word, without glancing at me. Like he hopes if he’s subtle I won’t notice. His cold fingers warm me. I imagine them resting on the trigger of a gun, and my heart flutters.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Had to run to my office computer…”Defender of the Realms,” Paranormal Romance.

    Pheobe looked none like her father or of her mother. She looked like she was the single creation of a moon filled night errantly struck with beams of sunlight in a cloudless dark sky. She could definitely not be outshone by any creature of this world.
    “Who are all these warriors?” she finally questioned Kinsey who sat on her right. “They do not speak as if from nearby? Who are they, I say?”
    “Why?” he almost shouted in response. “Is one being overbold? If he was a man of smarts, I say, he wouldn’t dare, for I will run him clean through!” Kinsey worked himself into a fair rage, palming the hilt of his broadsword, ready to take arms.
    “Give peace, Kinsey, I beg you,” she elbowed him hard in the ribs.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

