#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 6: THE ENGAGEMENT

Photo credit: Vanessa Rodriguez

Photo credit: Vanessa Rodriguez

It’s week six of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in.  Read mine below inspired by this week’s photo prompt above.

For everyone who’s been following the flash fiction over the past few weeks, this is part three of Jack and Amelia’s relationship. If you want to catch up on what you’ve missed check out Part 1: A LOVER’S PATH and Part 2: LOVE ADRIFT.

Feel free to leave a comment about my story. Enjoy!

THE ENGAGEMENT (146 words)

“You never told them,” I say, my arms across my chest.

Jack’s eyes are on the ground. He can’t look at me.

I can’t look at him either. My eyes go to his parents’ townhouse, the curtain in the upstairs window rustles closed. Margaret doesn’t like me—I don’t think any woman is good enough for her son. Except Elise.

I swallow back my anger and the pain, my eyes on Jack. He’s been watching me.

“Amelia, I didn’t know she would be here,” he says.

“I don’t care about Elise. But your family…they looked surprised to see me.” My eyes burn but I swallow back my tears. He doesn’t deserve them. Or my forgiveness. I’m thankful I never gave it to him.

“Let’s just get through this weekend.” Jack moves to the front door.

“It’s over, Jack. Don’t worry, they’ll never know we were engaged.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 6: THE ENGAGEMENT

  1. Excellent. It is so sad that his parents came inbetween their son and Amelia. Seems to me she gave up too easily. This is a wonderful story that makes one think. I really enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Thank you for that wonderful piece of feedback. In this piece, you’re right, it does seem like she gave up easily. I’ll have to remember working within the parameters of this piece. I guess my mind also included part 1 &2 of Jack and Amelia because she eludes to their relationship problems in both pieces. Thanks for the insight!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John Yeo says:

    The flow of the three episodes runs beautifully ~ I think it is always hard to break down the barriers of familial resentment ~ Well written Vanessa ~ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. luckyjc007 says:

    She gave up and Jack certainly doesn’t seem to be fighting to keep her. Maybe she made the right decision.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Creatopath says:

    Looks like Elise and Jack’s mother are still best buddies. Perhaps there’s something going on between Jack and Elise?? Liked the tension and the way Margaret is spying out the window!

    Like

  5. milliethom says:

    Very well written. You manage to convey Amelia’s emotions perfectly. I can’t manage to muster up any warm feelings towards Jack, though. His mother, too, seems intent on keeping Amelia out of Jack’s life. Nicely done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vanessa, I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you how grateful I am that you have become such a valued member of the FFfAW weekly writers’ group. I love reading your stories and you bring such a wonderful professional/mentor quality to the writing group. I hope you will continue to participate and I look forward to reading your future stories. Also, thank you for correcting our writing when needed! ((Hugs!)) PJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Awww thanks. You’re so sweet. I’m glad it’s helpful, hopefully everyone feels the same way about the feedback. I haven’t come across anyone who says they don’t want any. Personally, if there was something I lacked in my work, I’d want some insight. Looking forward to this week!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Looking forward to your story! There is one person that doesn’t want any critiquing and it is Susan. Her blog is the “Creative” blog (I forgot the entire name). Anyway, I look forward to your story!

        Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

