What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 6)

Cool dragon I found on pixabay - public domain

Cool dragon I found on pixabay – public domain

Time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up! Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’m still making way on my new project. I love when I’m excited about writing. The excerpt I’ve chosen for this week is from a YA fantasy novel with strong romantic elements about dragons. Because dragons are just cool.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and your 2nd paragraph on page 7. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

My father straightens and he’s the General again. “Very well. The Academie’s expectations of you far exceed any other recruit. I can’t show leniency. They will be under your command one day. An ounce of weakness now will only hinder you later. You do understand.” The last part he doesn’t ask as a question. I like it this way. This is how I expect him to talk to me.

“Of course. You’ve been telling me this since I shot my first arrow.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 6)

  1. Am I the first one? okay, okay…
    “Defender of the Realms” Paranormal Romance

    He bowed to Devlin, and when he arose from his bent posture, Devlin now could see him clearly. Gone was the grizzled man. The king of a great house stood before him. A mystical aura surrounded this man of grand royalty. His finery proclaimed his esteemed position.
    Then he vanished.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lilypup says:

    A Calling Of Light

    Portsmouth, Indiana 1965

    Leenie tilted the book yet again toward the last of the waning light in the afternoon sky. Her thumb peeked out from the hole in the side of her worn wool mitten as she turned the page. Chapped lips silently followed the words along. This book was harder. She sighed as she gently closed the cover. It was getting too dark to read now. Edging down off the wooden box that was her seat, she pulled up to the side of the large crate she was sheltered in.
    It was an odd playhouse, yet it was all hers. It stood in a hidden copse of trees far behind her house and far beyond the interest of any adults. Just a large cargo container built of wood, it had a heavy drop down door on the front. By tilting the door up with all her strength, the inside could be protected from the snow. And the snow was coming, Leenie knew. The pink sky and the man on the radio had said so. The man was very smart. It was good to listen to him.

    I have several chapters of this book up on my blog. It’s across the top banner, under “fiction”. All feedback greatly appreciated! Will do the same anytime.
    http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

  3. These are always fun! This is from Dark City, my WIP.

    I don’t say that I watch her, sometimes, her graceful steps on high heels across the hallways, easily parting a crowd at passing periods. It seems the other students barely even touch her as she glides by. She reminds me of those Egyptian drawings, queens with slender necks and elegant features, set to rule the world.

    Liked by 2 people

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

