#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 5: INNOCENT LUST

Pixabay Public Domain photo for flash fiction prompt

Pixabay Public Domain photo for flash fiction prompt

On to week five of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in.  Read mine below inspired by this week’s photo prompt. Pretty spooky!

This week’s prompt led to a new story, so I may have to continue Jack and Amelia’s story next week. Enjoy some forbidden-ness.

INNOCENT LUST (146 words)

“Y’all betta’ git off my porch,” a voice drawled followed by the cock of a shot gun.

I pulled my lips away from Johnny’s, the taste of canned beer and his chewing tobacco lingered on my tongue. My blood pulsed in my ears and his eyes, a startling blue, were wide with fear.

Johnny looked towards the porch owner’s feet and said, “Yes ma’am.”

I straightened my shirt and stood. So did Johnny. We’d thought the house at the far end of the gothic district was abandoned. If the gray-haired old hag hadn’t come out when she did, we would’ve done it right there on her dilapidated terrace.

“Your mama is Savannah,” she said, waving the barrel at me. Yes. Then she eyes Johnny. “Ain’t you Caroline’s boy?”

Johnny nods.

The woman lowers her gun in a fit of laughter. “You both got your daddy’s eyes.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 5: INNOCENT LUST

  1. Tastyniblets says:

    Great story! I can just picture that old hag killing the romance with her shot gun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cat says:

    Oh for a minute I thought they were going to be shotgun blasted off the old hags porch..ha… nicely done

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was AWESOME! I loved how you wrote it and that ending line is wonderful. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Geniewtdbh says:

    Wait, so they’re brother and sister?! Ewwwwwwwwww

    Liked by 1 person

  5. luckyjc007 says:

    Wow, that’s a rude awakening for them!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Vanessa! I just wanted to stop by and thank you for participating in these challenges. I sure hope you will continue. I love reading your stories! PJ

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Aww that’s awfully nice of you. Yes, it’s become part of my weekly posts to my blog. And I really try to read everyone’s work and give some feedback thats more than “good job.” Being part of a regular critique group has much improved my own writing – not only receiving constructive notes, but reading others, seeing whats working/not working and giving notes that can improve it. Thanks for the weekly prompts!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Creatopath says:

    What a great ending!! Loved it! Enjoyed the whole story.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sonya says:

    Oh dear, that’s got to work better than a cold shower… Great story with an excellent twist – love the last line 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is amazing on so many levels! Love it! Love the punchline!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

