What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 5)

Dragon-Linda_BlackWin24_Jansson

Got this lovely beast off of Wiki Commons, contributor is Linda Black Jansson

Hey, hey the weekend is almost over and that means it’s time for the Sunday Fiction Post-up. Come share your current work-in-progress here. I’m working on something new…..taking a break from The Healer. This is a YA fantasy novel with strong romantic elements about dragons. Oh, everyone loves dragons!

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and your 2nd paragraph on page 2. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

My eyes narrow until the edges of the dot become crisp and for a second I forget Ryu is there. Ryu with his black-spiked hair streaked with blond. Ryu with his almond-shaped eyes and long dark lashes. Ryu with his full lips which only produce infuriating, smart-ass comments. And then I imagine the target is him and release the arrow. The arrowhead cuts through the air—it’s like I can see it in slow motion as the shaft quivers back and forth. Then it hits the target a sliver shy of the red circle in the middle. Dammit.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 5)

  1. Ryu is a great name! I like the love-hate dynamic you’ve got going on here.

    Here’s mine (from Dark City, literary fiction)
    He jerks my arm once, pain shooting up and down the limb like sharp sprouts of bamboo. He has always believed pain to be an excellent teacher, and so it has become a constant companion.

    Liked by 3 people

    • married2arod says:

      Hmmm very intriguing. What exactly defines something as literary fiction?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, it’s not all that well defined at the best of times. But I think it’s to do with the quality of the prose, and that literary works tend to be more concerned with a protagonist’s internal journey. They can be very introspective, and sometimes deal in symbolism or have a lot of thematic depth to them. So when I’m feeling particularly highbrow about my work I’ll call it literary, probably mostly because that’s what I generally tend to read.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great idea. I was supposed to edit a page a day, but life, as usual, had other plans. So you’ve made me revisit a short story which I’ve been neglecting.

    From: The Accident:( Thriller , romance.)

    The board room was empty and I had a busy schedule. I looked away from my client’s folder, then out to the view from the twenty third floor. The city had growing pains; it was clogged with construction cranes. March can be a hopeful month. We anticipate change in our lives. We crave more or expect more from others because we need a reason to climb out of a stagnating season and arrive into what we rightly deserve and crave. My client list grows during this month; the divorce rate rises in the spring and my appointment book fills as my secretary turns away begging clients.

    Thank you for the opportunity…back to work.:)
    -DI

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Defender of the Realms” paranormal romance…

    “Blasphemy,” he swore under his breath, his accent clipped. Devlin’s meeting with the conjurer played again in his mind. He continued to ogle the succulent fairy that made his man’s flesh ache with unrequited want.

    ***This is so much fun!***

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shawn says:

    Thanks for sharing! I always like finding new things to read 🙂 Best of luck with your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lilypup says:

    I have bipolar and wrote a novel while manic (about ten years ago!). I didn’t know what to do with it, so I have been putting a chapter up every two weeks on my bipolar blog. It has found a little audience there. I hated to just throw it in the trash. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      You’re the second person’s blog I’ve run across that’s been diagnosed with bipolar. I recently read a book which they’re making into a movie about it. Called All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I enjoyed it. I don’t know how well it holds true, but I really enjoyed the characters and the dynamic of their relationship. It is a young adult book but it read very fast.

      Like

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

