You Make Me Want to Click You

SexyI actually like skimming through blogs and seeing what everyone’s writing. But sometimes that’s all I do. Skim. When I read other people’s work I still want to be entertained. So what makes someone’s blog clickable? For me it’s only a few things:

1. Pictures – They’re always nice but I hate when I see a picture and then the blog post is a laundry list of things that person did that day.

2. Fun titles – This comes down to being entertained, most times I just see post titles that don’t draw you in. Say something funny. I once saw one where someone says this is my 1,000,000th like… it wasn’t but I clicked on it.

3. Short posts – Ok I’m guilty of long posts but only for my short stories (they run 2500 words) but at least a reader knows what they’re getting into. Long word counts scare me off.

What are some of the things that make blog posts click-worthy for you?

It doesn’t take much to please me. And I am not much for poetry. It just doesn’t it do it for me, but I’m also adult that likes to read young adult lit… there’s that. So I gotta agree with this guy, this guy right here. He’s got some other pointers on what makes a not-so-great-blog-to-read. Check it out.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Just Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You Make Me Want to Click You

  1. Doobster418 says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Vanessa. I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like an active opening paragraph that hopefully is without spelling mistakes or grammatical errors. A couple don’t bother me. I tend to read ones that are less than 1000 words but equally feel robbed when there are just 20! I am tiring of bloggers who post ten times a day. Am I fussy? I guess so.

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      I often thought about what’s too much to post. Some of your followers get email notifications, I know I wouldn’t want to see my inbox filled with repeated posts. Same goes with my blog feed, but there are exceptions when someone’s posts are engaging.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. pattyalcala says:

    Thanks for the tips.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ellen Hawley says:

    I find I skim some blogs because I can pick up most of what they’re saying without doing any more than that. So for me it’s more than what’s clickable, it’s what makes me really read. I read when people don’t make their point three different ways, when they make me laugh, when they either keep it short or justify writing long.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

