#FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 3: THE LOVER’S PATH

Photo provided and credited to: http://pricelessjoy.co/

Photo provided and credited to: http://pricelessjoy.co/

On to week three of the flash fiction challenge by Flash Fiction for Aspiring Artists, check out their blog and join in.  Check out mine inspired by this week’s photo prompt.

THE LOVER’S PATH 

(147 words)

I hated everything about this place. The way the leaves crunched beneath my boots. How the trees leaned across the path—even how the sun broke through the thick canopies overhead. Most of all I hated that it reminded me of Jack.

I stood where the path bent. Darker. Tree branches reaching for me. Alone. Why the hell had I come here? Jack was everywhere I turned. I had to get out. So I ran.

Icy wind burned my cheeks. Foot fall echoed through the wood. My breath heavy with every exhale. But still he followed, etched into the recesses of my brain. And then I stopped. The darkening sky like a cloud over my heart.

“Amelia.”

My heart seemed to stop and I turned. Jack. Our ragged breaths in-sync. Our eyes mirrored in each other’s.

And then his words came out as a whisper. “I’m sorry.”

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 3: THE LOVER’S PATH

  1. This is gonna be so good. is there a part 2?? tell me there is!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mandibelle16 says:

    Great story! Love that Jack found her.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I loved it! I loved how her emotions became so intense as she thought about Jack and wanted to run away from them and then… Jack apologizing. Wonderful story. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It’d break my heart if you didn’t continue their story with the next prompt. No pressure (lol). I truly loved the emotions, setting details, similes, mirroring, EVERYTHING! Even if you don’t continue their story, I’m grateful you let us experience this moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tastyniblets says:

    Great story! Great use of imagery- you really made the scene come alive. More please!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cat says:

    This is a nice romantic take on this week’s prompt. I especially liked the pace, made me want to read more and more… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. John Yeo says:

    This is a lovely foretaste of the delights to come I look forward very much to your continuation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sonya says:

    Yay, happy ending! I love all the detail you included, took me right there with them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: #FlashFictionFriday – Vol. 6: THE ENGAGEMENT | Romance Done Write

  10. Creatopath says:

    A beautiful story. The first paragraph drew me in straight away. I loved all the imagery too. Felt like I was there. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

