What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 3)

IMG_4743It’s that time of week again, the Sunday Fiction Post-up is waiting for a few brave souls to share their current work-in-progress here. I’m working on a YA sci-fi romance called The Healer.

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and a couple lines from page 32, starting on line 7 into the comments section. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Excerpt from THE HEALER

I shook my head and Jaime squeezed my knee before walking over to
the nearest concession stand. Garren looked after him, and then joined me on the bench. “So is that your boyfriend?” he asked. I don’t know why, but the question caused my cheeks to flush.

“Huh? No, uh, we just grew up together.” People made that mistake all the time, but Jaime and I would never be anything more than friends. When we were twelve he had kissed me, my first real kiss, and I remember the butterflies swirling in my stomach. But for him, it had been an affirmation to a question he had battled within himself for so long. I had been pissed at him at first, then hurt, but when I saw how happy he was knowing who he was, I couldn’t take that away, and I knew I was the first person to really get him.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up: Vol. 3)

  1. This is very good! I was left feeling that Jaime might have been questioning his sexuality and found his answer.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love how random this is! I write historical romance and my novel “Defender of the Realms” is in the paranormal romance genre. Of course, page 32-line 7 may be inappropriate. 🙂 Since I’d like to stay true to the exercise let me know if you deem acceptable or not. My heroine’s brothers are trying to explain to her what to expect on her wedding night.

    Liked by 1 person

    • married2arod says:

      Lol. Of course I randomly pick that scene 😉
      I think you should still post it here, but add a disclaimer line before the excerpt warning of explicit content…just in case.

      Like

  3. Ah, the first real kiss. That’s such an interesting way to experience it! This sounds like a fun game 🙂
    My novel’s not a romance novel, but I hope it will still be acceptable. The 32nd page 7th line blurb sure makes it sound like one, though. Here goes…

    He pays the check. We walk out of the restaurant and stand by the window. Reluctant to let this chance encounter, which doesn’t feel like chance at all, end.
    “Thank you,” I say.
    He kisses me on the cheek. “Trust me when I say it was my pleasure.”
    It feels like the brush of his lips lingers even as he walks away.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. *Explicit Content* (Sort of…) So much fun, here you go!
    “Defender of the Realms” Paranormal Romance

    “God’s teeth man! What are you telling my sweetling?” Ivan was furious, “Of course he is going to take his place in her bed. They are affianced.” He took her hands that were folded on the table and tried to gain Pheobe’s attention using his best comforting tone, “Pheobe, have you seen the stallion Jack when he mounts the mares in summer’s field?”
    “You joke, man,” yelled Lucas unable to hold back!
    “Well, how would you like to explain it? His private goes into her privates?” Ivan howled.
    “Enough!” Pheobe screamed. She tore her hands from Ivan’s grip and stood tall. “I have seven, yes, seven…let me count them, one, two, three, four, five, six…seven brothers!” She pointed at each of them as she counted. “And, each of you thinks he has a larger cock than the other!”
    Audible male gasps filled the room with her language.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. married2arod says:

    Oh that wasn’t so explicit…I’ve read squeamish ones. My favorite line was Phoebe’s last line about her brothers. LMAO. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That was the one I was worried about, hah! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: We’re Nearing the End | Real Anonymous Girl

  8. Pingback: Nearing the End…. | Tackling Tinseltown

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

