#FlashFictionFriday – Vol 1: THE BOOK TOUR

Credit: Dawn M. Miller

Credit: Dawn M. Miller Photographer

Up for a challenge? Join Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers for their weekly prompt and write. Just follow their blog on the link above and follow the directions for next week’s challenge.

I’ve never written flash fiction before myself, so I’ve posted mine for this week below. Also be sure to post a link from your blog to #flashfictionfriday to join others who’ll be putting out their snappy fiction today. You’ll see mine in my Twitter feed to the right. If anyone is a pro on this style of writing, feel free to post tips…I may be inclined to make this a regular Friday challenge. Are you game?

THE BOOK TOUR (150 words)

I’m in love with Hugh Somerset, award-winning romance novelist. Sapphire eyes, tousled hair, broad-shouldered, a dimple. My heart is his.

At the back of the bookstore I wait. The scent of coffee lingers, voices chatter, paperbacks surround me. Bliss.

Every signing is the same. He reads an excerpt, the familiar sound like a sweet embrace. Our eyes meet, he smiles. My breath catches.

Q & A. Feet shuffle. I wait in line—we move slowly. He smiles and signs, smiles and signs. So close. I calm the flutter in my chest. My hand shakes as I hand him my book, our fingers touch. My insides ignite. After all this time, the feeling never fades.

He opens the book cover and I’m lost in his eyes.

“Who should I make it out to?” he asks.

“Carmen,” I say. “I’m your biggest fan.”

I love him. He just doesn’t know it yet.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
Image | This entry was posted in #FlashFictionFriday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to #FlashFictionFriday – Vol 1: THE BOOK TOUR

  1. Love it! It was so obvious to me she was in line and moving towards the author signing the books. You captured her thoughts and emotions down well! Now, let’s hope she gets him to notice her. 😀 But of course she does! She is his biggest fan. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like it: it could go either way, she could go “misery-ish” on him 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nortina S. says:

    I liked your description of Hugh. And that one dimple! I could die just imagining his smile right now. I have a feeling this isnt the narrator’s first book signing. Maybe she’s a little obsessed… Reminds me of the move Misery with Kathy Bates based on the Stephen King novel.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you for participating and I hope you will continue. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my I was right there with you, starry eye and waiting in line. Lovely story!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great tale, I like how you create the feeling of nerves and tension as you pass him your book. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. luckyjc007 says:

    Great story. She is definately in love with Hugh. She knows his every move and her own predicted response. I hope she can find a way to convey her inner feelings to him.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. penshift says:

    Beautifully capturing the thought patterns of his star stalker 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. luckyjc007 says:

    I guess I had a lot of practice while helping raise our three children. It was helpful to put myself in their place at times to get a better understanding of a situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ellespeth says:

    Oh! That last line gave me scary shivers.
    I like how the first line comes full circle with the last line. That’s great!
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cat says:

    You made standing in a queue very exciting… great story

    Liked by 1 person

  12. writenlive says:

    Ah! Love! Blind love! And the oblivious celebrity. Vivid story telling!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ameena k.g says:

    Haha, this reminds me of my Disney days :D, “I loved them, they just didn’t know it yet” 😉 .
    I love how you ended it with the statement “yet”, indicating there’s still hope. Creatively written! And you clearly depicted your story message within such a short about of words.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

