What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up)

So I thought it’d be fun for everyone to share a snippet of their current work-in-progress. I’m working on a YA novel that might be categorized as a soft sci-fi romance set in current day…don’t you love sub-genres?

I invite you to post your title, genre/sub-genre and the third paragraph from page 19 into the comments section. No need for critique, just a little writer love.

Here’s mine:

He rested his elbows on my desk, his posture aloof, and leaned in close, so close I took a deep breath like I was afraid there wouldn’t be enough air for the both of us. My thin green sweater acted as the only barrier between our bare skin. Personal space is not in this guy’s vocabulary. I didn’t even let Laurel get that close to me.

“Can I borrow a pen?” he asked, sweeping his fingers through his wavy hair.

About married2arod

Check out my blog for my bio in About
This entry was posted in Sunday Fiction Post-up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What are you Writing? (Sunday Fiction Post-up)

  1. S.E.A. says:

    What a fun idea! Here’s mine–

    Silence is Golden: Historical romance/Regency

    Immediately, she snapped her jaw shut and her mouth formed a mulish line of irritation. Crossing her arms over her chest, she glared at Alfred who, as the one who had managed to silence the seemingly ceaseless flow of words from Lady Evelyn, was unable to suppress a broad grin of triumph. Lady Evelyn’s stare only became stonier. He quite enjoyed knowing that the usually unflappable Lady Evelyn could be…flappable on occasion.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Fun idea. Here’s mine:
    ‘Til the Streetlights Come On (working title)
    YA/Supernatural

    He seemed so perfect when she was tiny, but as she got older she began to see him as he was. Her Papi began coming around less and less, and he didn’t bring presents when he did. They rarely went anywhere, and her mother would argue with him. Daisy would be sent out of the room and her father would explode. He didn’t need this, he told Belinda, he didn’t need them. Daisy’s world came crashing down when her father finally tired of her and her mother. The dramatics got to be tiresome, so he moved on. They were replaced by a different girlfriend and a cute new baby boy. That was the beginning of the end for Daisy’s mother, who was pregnant with Karla. She became more and more unstable, and Daisy became more and more of an adult. She was five years old.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A.B Mood says:

    Wow, I’m sorry I had no idea you were a writer! And a great one at that! The extract you just shared sounds amazing 🙂 Have you come up with the title? And when will we be able to read the rest of it? ^_^
    I’m really psyched!

    Liked by 2 people

    • married2arod says:

      Thank you…it’s still a work in progress, I’m about halfway through. But every Sunday I’ll be posting more and I invite you to post snippets of your work on my Sunday Post-up.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A.B Mood says:

        Heh I’m not as talented as you.. That’s why I haven’t tried writing a book (professionally), I only make-do with blogging, but I’m so looking forward to reading more from you 🙂 Will be here next Sunday ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is great I look forward to joining you next Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy, leave a reply.

